Shishapangma Expedition

Mount Shishapangma is the 14th of the 14 eight-thousanders, with an elevation of 8,027 meters above sea level. It is the only eight thousand meters mountain solely located in south-central Tibet. Due to its location, sometimes it can be problematic to operate the expedition at the last minute because of the sudden restrictions and rules imposed by authorities of the Government of China and Tibet Autonomous Region to foreign travellers.

The name Sishapangma explained by Geologist Toni Hagen means “crest above the grassy plains” in the local Tibetan dialect. The Tibetan-Chinese expedition team made the first summit of Mt. Sishapangma in 1964 and later opened for foreign climbers only in 1978. For this reason, we Imagine Nepal follow a different route than what was used by Chinese teams earlier: our climb follows the northwest ridge with a challenging knife-edge ridge that connects slightly to the lower central peak. We set up four camps: Advance Base Camp (ABC) at 3340m, Camp I at 6200m, Camp II at 6700m and Camp III at 7400 m for the summit (camp IV).

Brief Itinerary View in full

  • Day 01Arrival in Kathmandu and transfer to Hotel.
  • Day 2-4Visa process and shopping.
  • Day 05Flight to Lhasa.
  • Day 06Sightseeing tour at Lhasa.
  • Day 07Drive to Shigatse.
  • Day 08Continue along the 'Friendship Highway' to Shegar.
  • Day 09Drive to Shishapangma Base Camp.
  • Day 10-11Rest and acclimatization day at base camp.
  • Day 12Trek to Advanced Base Camp.
  • Day 13-14Rest Day & Puja at Advance Base camp
  • Day 15-36Climbing Period
  • Day 37Trek to Base camp and drive to Thingri
  • Day 38Drive to Shigatse.
  • Day 39Drive to Lhasa.
  • Day 40Flight to Kathmandu, Nepal.
  • Day 41Transfer to TIA and Final departure to your destination.